Football: Best player of the year 2017

Barcelona’s Argentina forwards Lionel Messi, who has won the Ballon d’Or five times, and Paris St Germain’s Brazil forward Neymar were runners-up for the award voted for by national team coaches and captains plus the media and fans.

The Best Fifa Men’s Player award and the Ballon d’Or, which is voted for only by the media, are now separate awards.

Real Madrid’s French coach Zinedine Zidane won the manager of the year trophy for his part in the club’s success.


Arsenal has made nine changes from their Europa League win over BATE Borisov for Saturday’s Premier League meeting with Brighton & Hove Albion.

Shkodran Mustafi and Rob Holding are the only two players to keep their places from Thursday’s 4-2 win in Belarus.

Petr Cech, Nacho Monreal, Hector Bellerin, Aaron Ramsey, Granit Xhaka, Alex Iwobi, Alexis Sanchez and Alexandre Lacazette all start for the Gunners.

Mesut Ozil misses out due to injury while Jack Wilshere, who impressed in the win over BATE, is handed a place on the bench.

Brighton boss Chris Hughton, meanwhile, has made three changes from last Sunday’s win against Newcastle United.

Tomer Hemed is suspended while Markus Suttner and Anthony Knockaert drop to the bench, and Gaetan Bong, Izzy Brown and Jose Izquierdo come into the starting XI.

Arsenal: Cech, Holding, Mustafi, Monreal, Bellerin, Xhaka, Ramsey, Kolasinac, Iwobi, Sanchez, Lacazette

Subs: Ospina, Mertesacker, Wilshere, Giroud, Walcott, Maitland-Niles, Elneny

Brighton & Hove Albion: Ryan, Bruno, Dunk, Duffy, Bong, Stephens, Propper, Brown, March, Gross, Izquierdo

Subs: Krul, Knockaert, Murray, Goldson, Schelotto, Suttner, Molumby

Unicorn Technology Trends